What You Need to Know About Legal Marijuana in Studio City
Studio City is located in Los Angeles, California, near CBS Studio Center in southeast San Fernando Valley. In California and beyond, the legal cannabis industry is experiencing rapid growth, and California is a hotbed for cannabis brands and dispensaries. However, visitors and residents must inform themselves of the laws surrounding the purchase and consumption of cannabis. To clear up any uncertainty surrounding cannabis laws in California and Studio City, we’ve created a brief rundown:
Is marijuana use legal?
In 1996, California became the first state in the US to legalize marijuana for medical purposes, later legalizing recreational use in 2016. Laws vary slightly by city, and Studio City happens to be one of the most cannabis user-friendly cities in Southern California. Still, it’s crucial to stay educated on updates to the laws to avoid any unwanted run-ins with law enforcement.
It is illegal to use or possess marijuana if you are:
- Under 21 years of age
- In possession of more than 28.5 grams of marijuana or more than 4 grams of concentrated cannabis.
- Possession or consumption of marijuana or concentrated cannabis on the grounds of any K-12 school while school is in session.
- Driving under the influence of cannabis.
Where am I allowed to consume cannabis or marijuana?
It is illegal to consume cannabis or marijuana products publicly or inside businesses. In Studio City, there are many places to visit where cannabis consumption is unlawful, whether it’s an outside area or inside location.
Cannabis products must be smoked or consumed in private, with the property owner’s consent. This means that your landlord or employer can prohibit your use of marijuana at work or on a property you rent. Additionally, marijuana may not be smoked in any public place or at any location where the smoking of tobacco is legally prohibited, including cannabis retailers.
How much cannabis and marijuana can I possess?
Adults aged 21 and up may possess up to one ounce of dried marijuana or eight grams of concentrated cannabis. Residents of California can also grow up to six plants for personal use, subject to certain restrictions.
What is the punishment for breaking marijuana or cannabis laws?
The law varies slightly depending on your criminal history. For most, breaking marijuana laws are a misdemeanor that comes with up to six months in county jail and/or a fee of $500.
It is important to note that it is always a crime in California to sell marijuana without a state and local license. If you are unsure what laws apply to your area, speak to a legal professional.
Medical marijuana dispensaries
Medical marijuana dispensaries operate under strict state and local requirements. Legally operating dispensaries may provide marijuana to recreational or medical marijuana patients, and primary caregivers with an ID card.
Where can I purchase cannabis legally?
WHTC was one of the first medical marijuana dispensaries to open in 2007 after our founder’s first-hand discovery of the benefits of cannabis for pain relief and chronic illness. Since then, we’ve dedicated ourselves to advocating for safe and conscious cannabis use, continuously working to fight the stigmas surrounding the industry.
WHTC only sells quality products that are safe, tested, and designed with our consumers in mind. We pride ourselves on the fact that we do not sell any product that we ourselves do not use. You can count on WHTC LA to provide friendly and knowledgeable guidance to make the most out of your cannabis purchasing experience.
You can find WHTCLA in Studio City or visit our virtual store for more information.